Editor's Picks News

Fire season begins July 1

Photo caption: A brush fire cuts across a field in the Nehalem area. – Photo: Hal McMahan

Fire Season will officially begin on Monday, July 1, 2019 at 1 a.m. This will affect all lands protected by the Oregon Department of Forestry in the Northwest Oregon Forest Protection District.

This area includes all state, private, and Bureau of Land Management (BLM) forest land in the Tillamook, Astoria, and Forest Grove Districts, which consists of Tillamook, Washington, Yamhill, Clatsop, Columbia, and Multnomah Counties, as well as portions of Lincoln County.

When Fire Season is in effect, forest operators must have required fire equipment at the site of their operation, and are reminded to inspect their fire equipment to make sure it is ready and can pass inspection. Forest operators must also provide fire watch on each operation after equipment is shut down at the end of operations each day. Fire season rules also prohibit smoking while in or traveling through any “operation area”, and prohibit the use of fuse and caps for blasting on forestland.

Buying permits are required for open pile burning and burn barrels. Residents that live within a City Fire Department District or Rural Fire Protection District, will need to contact their local Fire Department for burn permit requirements. In Tillamook County, the Oregon Department of Forestry issues burning permits for open pile burning and burn barrels. Starting on July 15, there will be a countrywide ban on open pile burning and no permits will be issued.

Beginning on August 1, all burning will be banned in Tillamook County. Residents are encouraged to plan ahead and complete burning prior to the ban. Fire can be a hazard at any time of year if steps are not taken to use fire safely. Whenever you use fire, never leave your fire unattended and always make sure your campfire is out cold before leaving.

A list of fire restrictions is available on www.oregon.gov/ODF/Fire/Pages/Restrictions.aspx

Post Comment