Sports

Pirates have learning week


Neah-Kah-Nie opened its Northwest League season Tuesday with a 3-0 sweep over the visiting City Christian Lions.
“I thought we played really solid,” coach Jenna Betts said after the victory. “We had quite a delay, so we had lots of time to warm up. We talked about positioning and hit some balls and served some balls.”
The Lady Pirates then hosted league rival Nestucca Sept. 6. Unlike their first league match, NKN could not seem to get things going and fell to the Bobcats 3-0.
Saturday, Sept. 8 the Lady Pirates hosted an eight-team tournament. Among the top teams competing were No. 12 ranked Toledo and No. 15 ranked Pilot Rock. After pool play, the Pirates faced Toledo and fell 0-2. However, they battled back in the game two and managed a tie against Santiam.
NKN travels to Gaston for a matchup with the Greyhounds Sept. 13 before competing in a tournament in Vernonia on Sept. 15.
The Lady Pirates next home game will be Portland Christian Sept. 18 at 6:30 p.m.

NKN VOLLEYBALL

Thurs., Sept. 13
VB – NKN at Gaston, 6:30pm

Sat., Sept. 15
VB – NKN at Vernonia Tournament, all day

Tues., Sept. 18
VB – Portland Christian at NKN, 6:30 p.m.

Tues., Sept. 25
VB – NKN at Nestucca, 7pm

Thurs., Sept. 27
VB – Gaston at NKN, 7pm

Tues., Oct. 2
VB – Faith Bible and NKN,
6:30 p.m.

Sat., Oct. 6
VB – NKN at Faith Bible, 1 p.m.

Tues., Oct. 9
VB – NKN at Knappa, 6:30pm

Thurs., Oct. 11
VB – Columbia Christian at NKN, 6:30 p.m.