Voters decide local elections

David Yamamota will be sitting next to Tillamook County Commissioners Tim Josi and Bill Bartlein the next four years after successfully winning his bid over political rival Jennifer Purcell for the board’s Position 2 seat.

By Ann Powers
[email protected]

David Yamamoto
David Yamamoto

Unofficial election results from the Tillamook County Clerk’s Office show Yamamota, of Pacific City, winning 54 percent of the 12,030 votes cast.

Here’s a look at how North Tillamook County constituents voted in their municipal elections, Nov. 8.

Bay City
Shaena Peterson secured the uncontested mayoral race for a two-year term. Kari Fleisher and Crystal C. Killion will serve on the city council for the next four years.

Out of the 375 ballots cast in Garibaldi’s mayoral race, 293 went to Suzanne McCarthy and 82 were write-ins, according to the Tillamook County Clerk’s unofficial results.

The two open council spots went to Joe Grice with 35 percent of the vote and Monty Elliot winning 33 percent of the ballots.

As expected, Manzanita’s new mayor is Mike Scott. The two-term city councilman and former planning commissioner brought in 291 votes unopposed.

Incumbent Hans Tonjes and newcomer Scott Galvin won the two vacant city council seats with 28 percent and 26 percent, respectively.

marijuana-ban-occOregon Coast Cannabis (OCC) is budding with joy today. About 70 percent of Manzanita voters shot down Measure 20-138. If approved, the ballot question would’ve banned recreational cannabis sales, dispensaries and producers within city limits.

“We are definitely excited and would like to thank all of the voters who voted no on Measure 20-138,” said OCC co-owner Andrew Buck.

His business partner, Hannah Hayes, agreed and said the dispensary intends to show that gratitude by continuing to be a viable economic entity for the area.

“We are looking forward to being a quality, craft-cannabis resource and education center for the community,” she said. “We are very grateful and thankful.”

Manzanita’s marijuana measure vote was 149 for and 308 against.

Nehalem Mayor William (Bill) L. Dillard, Jr.
William (Bill) L. Dillard, Jr.

Appointed incumbents swept Nehalem’s municipal bids.

William L. Dillard, Jr. will remain Nehalem’s mayor for at least the next two years. The appointed incumbent won that race with an 80-to-20 percent advantage over his opponent Micah White.

White is on the city’s budget committee and founder of the Nehalem People’s Association.

Micah M. White
Micah M. White

“Success is often proceeded by failure,” White said. “The good news is that 20 percent of Nehalem, one out of five people, voted for me and greater democracy. This is a huge accomplishment. The Nehalem People’s Association meetings will continue and in the two years until the next mayoral election our influence will only increase. This minor setback is the start of something beautiful.”

In the council races, all four-year terms, appointed incumbent Hillary Howell won with 82 percent of the vote for the Position 1 spot.

Stacy Jacobsen, also an appointed incumbent, will remain in the Position 2 seat with 58 percent of the unofficial total. And Jim Welsh secured his re-election bid with 61 percent of the vote for Position 3.

Joanne D. Aagaard
Joanne D. Aagaard

Rockaway Beach
Joanne D. Aagaard won her uncontested, re-election bid for a second term as Rockaway Beach’s mayor. She said she will address the city’s top concerns she outlined as, “affordable housing, parking and just about the same problems for all small towns in Tillamook County.”

City Council Positions 1, 2, 3 and 5 were all up for election.

Incumbent Nathan Beeman secured Position 1 uncontested.

Susan (Sue) Wilson is the victor in the second council seat. The incumbent took 60 percent of that vote.

Position 3 went to council newcomer Kristine Hayes, beating four other opponents with 29 percent of the ballots cast in her favor.

Incumbent James Doyle retained his Position 5 council seat.

Stevie Stephens Burden
Stevie Stephens Burden


Wheeler’s municipal election was pretty much over before it began. There were five incumbent and uncontested candidates running for five positions on the ballot.

Stevie Stephens Burden continues on as mayor for the next four years. The city council members include Dave Bell, James (Jim) King, Loren Remy and Heidi Wilcox-Siglin.

All council seats carry four-year terms, except for King’s. He has a two-year unexpired term.

pot-taxPot Tax
Throughout the county, voters approved a three percent tax measure on sales of marijuana items by recreational retailers within city limits.

Post Comment