Elected officials both new and renewed

David Yamamoto
David Yamamoto

David Yamamoto of Pacific City is poised to replace Mark Labhart as the newest Tillamook County Commissioner after unofficially defeating Jennifer Purcell in Tuesday’s election with 53 percent of the vote.

By Brad Mosher
[email protected]

The Pacific City resident currently has a 6,422 to 5,608 edge over Purcell for the #2 seat vacated by retiring Mark Labhart.

However, several county officials ran unopposed and retained their positions.

Tillamook County Sheriff Andy Long
Tillamook County Sheriff Andy Long

Tillamook County Sheriff Andy Long ran unopposed and was re-elected with 9,928 votes

Tassi (Mills) O’Neill also was unopposed and won a four-year term as the county clerk with 9,793 votes.

Debbie Clark won a four-year term as the county treasurer with 8,986 votes.

Tillamook Soil and Water District had four director seats open, with Larry Zweifel winning the at-large number one spot, while Clarence Boquist (zone 3), Bryan Measor (zone 4) and Bill Hagerty (zone 5) each won four-year terms.

Tillamook People’s Utility District also had two positions on the ballot, with Doug Olson and Harry Hewitt winning positions for subdivisions 1 and 3, respectively.


In local mayoral elections, Shaena Peterson of Bay City, Joanne D Aagaard of Rockaway Beach, Stevie Stephens Burden of Wheeler and Suzanne McCarthy of Garibaldi were all re-elected and ran unopposed. In Manzanita, Mike Scott won a two-year term for mayor, in the wake of Mayor Garry Bullard’s announced retirement.

county_precincts_color-smallThe sole contested mayoral election came from Nehalem with William (Bill) L. Dillard Jr. to remain as the mayor of after beating challenger Micah White by a 138-to-36 vote margin.

City council

In Tillamook, Jorge Rios won the Ward 1 councilor position, while Adam Schwend won Ward 3 and John Sandusky won Ward 5. All ran unopposed.

In Manzanita, Hans Tonjes (214 votes) and Scott Galvin (198) won the city councilor positions, with Annie Naranjo-Rivera (192) finishing just six votes behind Galvin.

In Wheeler, Heidi Wilcox-Siglin, Dave Bell and Loren Remy won the three councilor positions on the ballot, while James King won the two-year unexpired term. All ran unopposed.

In Rockaway Beach, Nathan Beeman ran unopposed and won Position 1 on the city council, while Susan (Sue) Wilson won Position 2 with 331 over Emma Poulsen’s 225. Position 3 was a five-person race with Kristine Hayes ultimately winning the seat with 196 votes, Geoffrey Grace (176), Penelope (Penny) Cheek (141), Patrick McIntire (107) and R. David Jeffers (36) also ran. James Doyle and Brian Poulsen ran for Position 5 with Doyle earning 363 votes to Poulsen’s 186.

Hillary Howell was re-elected to Position 1 on the Nehalem City Council, beating Brooke Hua 139-to-29, while Stacey Jacobsen (100) won re-election for Position 2 from opponent Jeremy Mulcahy-Hill (71) and Jim Welsh was re-elected to Position 3, defeating Lucy Brook 106-to-66.

Two positions were up for Garibaldi’s city council. Joe Grice (187) and Monty Elliot (173) were the top vote-getters, while L. Marlene Westerfield (164) trailing  by nine votes.

In Bay City, three seats are up for election with only Kari Fleisher (336) and Crystal C. Killion (353) officially running. Write-ins have 92 votes.

The Tillamook County Clerk’s office, by law, has 20 days to certify election results, including write-ins.