Hatfield Award given to Shirley Kalkhoven

The League of Oregon Cities’ (LOC) prestigious Mark O. Hatfield Statesmanship Award was presented to former Nehalem Mayor Shirley Kalkhoven during the LOC’s 90th Annual Conference at the Riverhouse Convention Center.

Shirley Kalkhoven

The award is presented to a deserving “statesman” who has provided lasting benefits to the quality of life for Oregon citizens. Mayor Kalkhoven, who died in March, had been a force in Oregon politics for the past decade, particularly in her work on transportation and emergency preparedness. She changed Oregon policies through her dedication and perseverance, devoting her life unselfishly to the betterment of Oregon.

Mayor Kalkhoven served as president of the League of Oregon Cities in 2009 and the Oregon Mayors Association in 2014. She had been a member of the Northwest Regional Solutions Advisory Council and chair of the Tillamook County Futures Council. In addition, she had been the chair of the Northwest Area Commission on Transportation since 2007, chair of the League of Oregon Cities Water Wastewater Policy Committee, a member of the League of Oregon Cities Transportation Committee and a member of the board of the Col-Pac Economic Development Commission, representing small cities in Tillamook County. At the time of her death, she had been mayor of Nehalem for 10 years and previously had served 10 years on the Nehalem City Council.

Previous Hatfield Award winners include: Oregon Senator Betsy Johnson (2013); U.S. Congressman Greg Walden (2011); former Oregon Senator Brady Adams (2007); former Oregon Senator Cliff Trow (2001), former Oregon Governor Neil Goldschmidt (1997) and former Oregon and U.S. Senator Mark Hatfield (1996).

The Hatfield Award is presented to a deserving “statesman” who has provided lasting benefits to the quality of life for Oregon citizens.

Applicants must be held in high esteem by the public due to their unselfish devotion to the call of public service. Hatfield began his political career in 1950 as a member of the Oregon Legislature, and in 1956 became the state’s youngest Secretary of State at age 34. He was elected to the U.S. Senate in 1966, and became the longest-serving Senator from Oregon in 1993.

Post Comment